Kung Fu Fighting

Two buzzards fighting over prey on the Marlborough Downs this morning.

Not expecting anything very much with the weather as it was forecast for today which was cloudy with torrential rain and wind. I was thankful there were under those conditions a few photographic opportunities from the hide up there. I was in it from just before dawn to dusk as once you're in, you're in. No coming out as it would disturb the birds with buzzards being the most eagled eyed and most easily spooked ever!! A first for me as I spent the day in the hide in my slippers with heat pads attached to my socks which worked a treat. There was also a heater in there which with the wind whistling over the hill top I would have frozen without, even in my new thermal undies. 

A blessing too in the hide was one-way glass which meant that any movement couldn't be picked up from outside; a comfy chair, a stove for making tea and coffee and even sloe gin to try if you fancied - not that I did as I'm not a gin drinker. 

Being on my own in there meant I could use both the window ports too so could set up two different lenses and cameras to get different perspectives on the scene.

Photographically it was difficult with the low light and speed of the birds plus I think better weather would definitely make it easier. The red kites when they came swooping in to steal the prey really had a turn of speed which was staggering. Tricky, especially as I was working with a restricted window view which made tracking and panning difficult though amazing to watch.

A good day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.