Avocado Green

They were preparing avocado toast at Trail House this morning. They are now making a small cup of foam for Spike ....Finding a tick walking around his nose reminded me that yesterday was the day for his monthly anti-tick 'treat'.  He must have picked the tick up when he was racing around the meadow on his favorite walk. This morning he picked the section with a lot of burned bushes which were never cut, providing lots of places for ticks to hang out and  when they sense carbon dioxide drop onto whatever is passing underneath them....or in Spike's case, crashing through them!

In search of a couple of simple and inexpensive pitcure frames, I went to Target this morning. There are a number of ways to get there and I always forget which turning to take, but am getting better at finding my way without getting hopelessly lost....My sense of direction is nonexistent, and after two years of not going very many places, nothing looks quite the same.

Inside Target I had my usual response of wanting to turn and run as soon as I got in the door. I never know where anything is,  and usually lose interest in whatever I came to look for before I ever find it. I can walk miles on a nice trail, but when it comes to making the circuit around Target, I feel exhausted before I even get started.  The lighting in there ( flourescent, I think ) contributes to this feeling by making me feel dizzy. 

Wearing a mask probably doesn't help either....the county mask mandate ends tomorrow, with schools being the exception. I'm not ready to throw away my masks, although that is exactly what I did with the ones in the car, replacing them with new ones. I think it will be awhile before I go to Target without a mask...or maybe at all....

I was fortunate this morning, because the picture frames were near the entrance and I could grab them, pay for them and leave. I even scored some of those picture hangers that can be removed without leaving a hole in the wall.  I came home, framed Maya's drawing of Ozzie, Blake and Rudy, and Lola's drawing of Spike and put them on the wall by the coffee machine. It's amazing how much coffee gets splattered around there. The drawings need protection, and a glass covering that can be wiped off. 

I read the newspaper over a late lunch, and that was my day. John brought me a bouquet of red roses today...only a day late. I confess that we both forgot that yesterday was Valentine's Day. The roses look lovely in the new glass vase, and love, not just the romantic variety,  is definitely something to be celebrated every day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.