Nasty little predators..

.... the asian paper wasp that is.  Early last evening I took a handful of monarch caterpillars from a large swan plant at the front of the house which they had completely demolished and put them onto some very smal plants I had growing in pots at the back of the house. I've had the large plant covered with a 'tent' all summer to protect the caterpillars from the wasps .- It's been very successful I haven't seen one wasp and lots of monarch butterflies have flown away.  This morning  I went out and there were three of the larger caterpillars dangling from the plants dead and a wasp nearby.  I really do detest them. Needless to say the remaining caterpillars are now safely housed in the caterpillar castle.  The little plants will only last a couple of days at the most and there won't be enough foliage to get the remaining caterpilars to the chrysalis stage.  It looks like a trip to the plant nursery in the next couple of days.. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.