tempus fugit

By ceridwen

How green was my kraut

Not really mine - I'm making it for the dog.

I do most of my fermenting at this time of the year when root veg and cabbages are plentiful and cheap. The result is widely touted as being super-healthy for our gut. So why shouldn't the dog benefit from  probiotics too? Dogs are omnivorous as any owner will know, and their diet must include plant material.

This recipe, involving equal quantities of blitzed celery and cabbage plus water, was devised especially for dogs since it contains no added salt, that which is contained in the celery being sufficient to protect against mould. You just need to swirl the cliptop jars daily for a fortnight and thereafter keep them in the fridge. A spoonful a day on a dog's normal food is sufficient.

I enjoy fermenting.  "Companion cultures" are a bit like pets, they have to be kept in good health but need less attention and are much cheaper to maintain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.