Fractured, Frozen Fairytales

We had yet another cold, cold morning, and the light was good. But I'd been out the morning before, had a great session, and hadn't planned on another frozen bubble session anytime soon. Then my husband said, "There is no breeze, it is very still, it is perfect conditions for your bubbles." And so I made a brand new batch of bubble mix, and out I went into the cold to wrangle some frozen bubbles!

I have many little knick-knacks in my collection, and each time I go and make bubbles now, I take a few little toys along. On this day, it was a pair of frogs (that are actually salt and pepper shakers), and a little fairy with a heart-shaped crystal in her chest atop a heart-shaped metal box.

The brand new bubble mix was outstanding, and I got plenty of motion on the waters as each new world formed before me. I beguiled my little woods fairy into hanging out with the crystal balls, so here she is. I thought it looked pretty darn magical, and that's what it's all about, right?

I opened up the little metal heart beneath where the fairy sits, and I found a scrap of paper with a fortune on it that I'd saved. I opened it up and here is what it says: You will share great news with all the people you love.

And so I will share this news with you, which I have discovered in these woods and waters of central PA. And it is a simple truth: that winter is a time and place of outstanding beauties, and of unspoken words of great glory, and grace. But you might just have go to out in the cold to grab some of that stuff. (Don't worry, if it's too cold for you, *I* will go out into the magical frozen worlds and bring some of winter's grace and glory back for us!)

This blip is a tiny fairytale, and I want a fairytale song to go with it. I think this one will do: Stevie Nicks, with Beauty and the Beast, live, from 1983.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.