The Great Gatehouse roof at Hampton Court

Today as it was so sunny this morning I made a quick visit to Hampton Court to see what bulbs were out in the gardens. The snowdrops are out plus crocuses and the daffodils in the Wilderness gardens area ( which pre-COVID were open to the public but not any more) are just coming in to flower. I was also pleased to see lots of tulips showing their leaves so hopefully they will make great displays like last year. The extra shows the blue sky and is the main gateway seen as I was going out from the first courtyard, Base Court. 

As I passed though the gateway  I looked up at the ceiling which I have not observed properly before . Apparently this was made as part of several restoration projects at the end of the 19C. The vault was carved in Bath stone and was finished in 1882; the soffit has the Royal Arms in the centre and twelve bosses in a circle around them …these include 2 Tudor roses, 2 Cardinals hats, 2 TC monograms for a Thomas Wolsey , 2 VR for Queen Victoia, 2 Tudor crowns, a mitre and the Archbishop of York’s cross

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.