Sneeze light ashes

By ljososke

Olympus Trip 35

The first camera I bought was simple, one might say. However, it is far more advanced than the first I got my hands on, my parents Italian box from ca 1946 (see yesterday).

My Olympus has four clicks choosing the distance, and a full choice of f-stops, from 4 to 22. Even an Automatic option, where a mechanical tab pops up in the viewfinder if the light is too scarce. And this decision is made with pure magic: a selenium light meter, no need for a battery.

So I learned a lot about photography and photographs. When I pointed out a spot in a 9×12 colour paper print as an owl, this fact was hidden for anyone else looking at my picture. It is still the one and only capture I have made of an owl, and I am still the one and only to see it.


my first camera
all this complexity to flourish
from simplicity

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.