Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Ash sunset and last night

I have been lazing at home most of the day after a latish night last night.   A massive electrical storm blew in.  I have never seen such humongous lightning.   The whole sky  was lighting up.   At first I could see it coming in the South and having already posted my blip I was happily just watching but the storm chaser in me got the better and out I went.  It was bucketing down too so it was hard to find a place where I was enough under cover to not get wet but had enough clearance to get the lightning.   The first extra is from the Ferry wharf at Queens Wharf.  Those are ships and silos across the harbour which will give you and idea of just how huge that lightning was.   The second extra is from a covered picnic area at Merewether beach looking North.  I must have been out for about three hours and it was still lighting up the sky when I got home.  I heard that the storm nerds estimated 150,000 lightning bolts in that storm.

So tonights blip is near where the second extra was taken some 20 hours later.  Back to the scene of the crime.   Since the eruption of the Volcano near Tonga we have been getting these glowing sunsets from the ash in the air.  All the world is connected isn't it when you think about it.  Happy Friday blippers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.