HClaireB

By HClaireB

Cookery books

We left London at 5.30am to get home before the worst of Storm Eunice struck. The red weather warning area has nearly passed over us now, thank goodness. I can see lots of fallen branches but no trees down. I won't know for sure until I can check tomorrow.

So an indoor blip today - my cookery books (plus some small paintings by a friend). The smallest book on the far left in brown parcel paper (to hold it together) was my mother's. It is a Good Housekeeping Popular Cookery Book 1950. That's the year she married, and I guess she thought she ought to acquire some domestic skills (never her strong point - or mine). I've never tried any of the recipes as there were still rations when it was written and I'm not sure where I would find powdered egg.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.