Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Black witches' butter/Two prunes on a stick

Storm Eunice was already upon us, although not at its peak, when the spaniel and I ventured out this morning. I found this nice little black fungus on a fallen oak twig. I think its Black Witches' Butter (Exidia glandulosa) although it looks remarkably like a pair of prunes.

So far we've lost two large panels of trellis which had climbing hydrangea on, the main trunk of our large oak tree has split in two and we will need to see if the tree surgeon can rescue it. Our neighbour's fencing has also been toppled. I've also just heard that all the fencing at my father's bungalow has gone over so I will have to drive up to Oxfordshire tomorrow to see what can be done. I'm not a fan of fencing so maybe this is the opportunity to replace it with some native English hedging.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.