Along the stream Fallentinbekken

A calm day at the office until 12.30, when a man came to our office for help. Now it's almost midnight and I am still thinking of him. He was very restless and frustrated, but seemed aggressive too, but he told me that he wasn't a monster and would not hurt me. He had had an ordinary life, with education, job and a wife. Five years ago he got divorced and his life fell apart, he started to use cannabis daily, cocaine at partys and got adicted, lost his job etc. and he felt ashamed over his life. Now he had got a job for the season on a fisherboat in north of Norway, but he needed help for the planeticket and for cloths and for food until he arrived up north. He had applied in good time, for the ticket, cloths and food, but nobody had taken an affair and he had to leave on sunday, because the fishingboat was leaving on monday. I did everything I could, but felt I fighted against a wall. The security guard came to me several times, because she was worried about the situation. Ten minuts before we closed a boss came to me and tried to solve the problem. What makes me frustratred is that we complain about people living on social security, and when they make an effort to get a job, we don't give them the small, last support.
When he left, he cried, the poor man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.