My Names Not Susan!

By dotcomjohnny

The Worker

I picked up a faulty Nikon D100 the other day, the auto focus sensor wasn't working, but the rest of the camera was fine. Paying to have a new sensor fitted wasn't really an option so I decided to keep the camera and use it with a 24mm f2.8 H.C -Auto Nikkor I have.

The 24mm is a Pre-AI lens and I didn't want to convert it. Because the D100 would no longer AF I decided to break off remove the small indexing lug that prevented me from mounting the lens. With the lug out of the way the lens mounted perfectly.

Not only do you have to manually focus these old lenses, you have to set everything else on the camera manually too. Although this all sounds rather complicated, with practise its quite easy to hit focus and nail the exposure too.

"The Worker"

Nikon D100.
Nikkor 24mm f2.8 H. C - Auto (1964)
f8 .. 1/800 sec @ ISO 400

My Names Not Susan, but thanks for stopping by

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.