Clubhouse Fire

I still can't believe it happened.

The majestic clubhouse at Oakland Hills Country Club in our neighborhood burned today. All day. The fire department was called at around 9:15 am.  By the time I found out about it and headed home to see for myself it was around 11.  The main photo and the first extra were taken around 11:30am.  The final extra was around 8:30pm and the fire was still burning.  The original clubhouse was built in 1922 and had been renovated and added onto in the many years since.  It is likely a total loss.  At one point today there were at least four additional fire departments called in to help battle the blaze.  There were times when we could barely see the neighbors' houses across the street through the smoke

My family and I were members there for a number of years when our girls were young. There are pictures of the clubhouse in my journal here (2010) and here (2012).

It is a sad day for the community and the members. It's just unbelievable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.