Anyone for tennis?

Turns out that my paternal grandparents were tennis champions in the 1930s when they were out in India and Burma, as these tankards can attest to. I think there may have been other victories, however, these are the we still have the trophies for:

Mixed Doubles Champions, August 1935: Surna Valley Light Horse Institute 

Open Singles Champion, 1936, Masimpur, Assam

Chauk/Lanywa Dett ‘D’ Coy, Burma 

My grandparents were out there for over 10 years in the 1920’s and 1930s, and both my deceased aunt and dad were born there, and came back to the UK, prior to the start of a World War 2.

On my maternal side of the family, it turns out that my grandfather worked out in the rubber plantations in Nigeria and the Gold Coast (now Ghana).

I find doing family history stuff, absolutely fascinating, and it has made me realise that my grandparents were much more adventurous that I am.

I hope you are enjoying Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.