BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Hand

“Hand: grasping organ at the end of the forelimb
of certain vertebrates that exhibits great mobility
and flexibility in the digits and in the whole organ.”
- Encyclopaedia Britannica
 
 
(Note: My dear hands, the following applies
to each of you).
 
 
A ‘grasping organ’ doesn’t do you justice.
Please pass a glass so I can raise it
 
and praise your skills and versatility.
Here goes…
 
On a plate, everything handed
to me, so often, by you. Thank you.
 
And, hand, you can handle an itch, easily;
can become a fist;
 
can beckon, but then,
with a flick of the wrist…
 
someone’s dismissed;
when you connect with your partner clap clap applause;
 
a finger to lips shhh.
Such power you wield, my flexible friend.
 
Sometimes it’s a light touch,
the right touch,
 
knowing what’s needed, wanted.
I do take you for granted
 
but oh…
the things you can do!
 
When you put it there for example…Ooo!
I’d miss that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.