Pidgin Pigeon & a third storm in a week

I was watching the pigeons, obviously having an in-depth discussion about something. I didn't go off to get my Lumix camera, just used the phone or they would have been off by the time I got back.
Whatever they were discussing seems to have resulted in the one being dismissed from the gang, as he dismally makes his way down the steps.
The bottom photo doesn't show the movement of course, apart from the ramrod of a flag. I put the Union Flag back up earlier when it all seemed to be quite calm. I then read that the third storm of the week was coming, Storm Franklin. It has been pretty ferocious for a while, lots of rain, probably worse rain than we had with the first two, Dudley and Eunice. At this rate they are going to run out of names!
The naming of storms started in 2015. From what I remember from my childhood, and the following years, there were 'Gale Warnings' with a number.
9 was the worst gale force, meaning winds 47-55 mph,
It then went to 10, Whole Gale, Storm, 55 - 63 mph winds
11 was considered a Violent Storm with winds of 64-72 mph.
The storms we've been having are significantly stronger than Gale/storm force 11, I think these are the ones that have been designated with names rather than additional numbers on the Beaufort Scale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.