Fading ….

After two days of fairly intensive work with my camera, Eunice and my sparrow hawk having notched up well over 1000 shots, today I decide to take a slower pace and focus on the final ‘flourish’ of the Iris I blipped back on February 12th. It was already curling up back then, and by now it’s almost faded to oblivion. It’s far from beautiful in the conventional sense, but I find the veining and translucency fascinating. It lacks the gloss of fading tulips, but there’s a complexity of form I really like. 

Outside the weather continues to be dreadful - continuous rain and wind, though obviously of less intensity than Eunice. Still, G decides I need to get out of the house - I’m really struggling to keep positive right now, and getting out can lift my mood. 

We retrace our route of Friday, travelling from the relative shelter of Colwyn Bay to full-on gales by the time we reach West Shore. The tide is in and spray joins horizontal driving rain, so there is no way I’m risking my camera as I leave the car. It’s a case of bracing against this elemental onslaught and holding onto my iPhone for dear life. It’s certainly bracing - not dangerous as the wind direction makes it impossible to fall into the sea - and I rapidly end up absolutely drenched. G, inevitably, remains within the car. Then it’s back home to a hot shower, change of clothes and warming soup! 

As I posted stormy seas on Friday, I’ve kept to my faded Iris for today, but having got completely soaked on West Shore, I’ve added an iPhone shot in extras. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.