Press On, Forgetting What Lies Behind........

Our service was in a slightly different order today, which allowed me to photograph something that we always enjoy seeing and still join the choir in the loft to sing "The God I Serve", though I doubt they had me in mind when they planned the service----but God knew the desire of my heart!  We started the service in the usual way, lifting our voices in prayers and praise.  I was especially grateful to see a dear friend there who has not been able to attend in person for a long time.  After a couple of songs, we paused the music portion of the service, for three baptisms.  As you can see, they were children, which can be a challenge, although they have a camera in the baptistry from which they project the baptisms on the screens on the side walls of the building.  I could take pictures of those, but in this day and age, I prefer not to since my blips go out all over the world.....After the baptisms, we sang one more congregational song, which gave me the opportunity to join the choir in the loft.  Following the choir special, Pastor Wes took us back into Phillipians 3, starting about verse 12, to remind us that our ultimate goal should be to truly know Christ.  In order to do that, we need to have a proper view of ourselves as God sees us, neither a perfect example nor  a hopeless case, but as a person that He loves and desires to bring to maturity.  We have a goal that we press toward like runners in a race, stretching toward that goal, forgetting what lies behind like one who has fallen, but gets up and continues the race, toward the goal of truly knowing Christ.  I am sure that you would appreciate hearing Pastor Wes speak about it.  You can watch the sermon that was live-streamed this morning and you can join us in person next week.  We would love to welcome you!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.