My Photo Journal

By kimwilkie33

Sarah

My 52frames weekly challenge theme is unexplored, with an extra challenge to involve a stranger. Oak Forest Cemetery was established in 1810, many years before Michigan became a state. I have passed by it many times, and even though I was curious about the place, I’ve never stopped to explore it. I came across this worn headstone, and I noticed that this was one of the oldest graves there. I made my photograph, and then I did some minor research. Based on the few words I could still read, I discovered that this is the marker for Sarah Waldron the widow of Benjamin. She passed on September 7, 1811 at the young age of 18 years and 8 months. There is no other information about her, so she will remain a stranger that lived more than two centuries ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.