Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Belfast

It’s now well over two years since I have been to see a movie and in fact Mauzee and I have never been to the movies together EVER!  Covid has a lot to answer for.  Well today was the day and we collected our friend Margaret and headed off to the Mount Vic flicks to see the Oscar nominated movie Belfast.  One thing I have missed during Covid are the World Champion Choc tops that are served at the old fashioned Confectionary Bar inside the theatre.  What a joy to be able to dive into the handmade delight that are a feature of the cinema.  It looks like I’m the only person in the theatre that actually knows about them because I couldn’t spot another Choc Top in this image (kindly taken by Mauzee).
As for the film, I can honestly say it is now up there as one of the best movies I have ever seen.  I used to travel across to Belfast from England in the late 70’s to coach squash and have vivid memories of the security that surrounded many of the buildings at the time.  I was asked to meet the Lord Mayor of Belfast during one visit and when we arrived at the town hall it was barricaded with barbed wire and sand bags.  Quite a daunting sight for a young woman from Perth Western Australia.  The acting is superb and the story riveting.  I urge you to go and see it on the big screen, you won’t be disappointed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.