Grandstand view

I went to get the results of last week’s blood test and was relieved to be told all is well. N drove me there this week and on the way home I persuaded him to stop on Epsom Downs so that I could get a Blipfoto.
The grandstand on the racecourse is gleaming white in the afternoon light. The building has grown considerably since I first knew it in the 1950’s. The small building on the left is a pub called The Rubbing House, said to be on the site of the area where the racehorses were rubbed down after the exertions of the race. In the distance on the right you can see tall buildings on the outskirts of London.
The wind was still very strong on the top of the downs. I had problems opening the car door, and once out I clung to the car for fear of being knocked over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.