Mantle clock

I bought this clock in about 1983, having spotted an advert in a shop window.

I tracked down the clock, saw it, and agreed to buy it at the advertised price of £35.
"Aren't you going to bargain."
"No, I said, I think it is worth the money"

"Oh well, you can have it for £30"

I wonder if I offered more, would the price come down even further?

It is made of Belgian slate, inlaid with green malachite.

The Belgian Congo (now The Democratic Republic of Congo) is/was a rich source of malachite so the whole structure makes sense.

Someone in the know, once dated it as late 19th century.

On a sadder note, the mimosa shown in yesterday's entry, became a victim of the turbulent relationship between Storm Eunice and Storm Franklin and now lies on the neighbour's garage roof!

So much for bending in the wind....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.