horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Doodle

Doing a talk shortly at work for our Mental Wellbeing group, all about doodling - how sketching keeps me on the right track, and how doodling during meetings can be beneficial (got invited after I posted on our intranet about it).

Okay, so part of it is definite 'showing off', but it's linked to gaining confidence in what I do - like the progression in cartoons from my university, and early working days; to the regular 'sustainability' items I illustrate here.

The confidence aspect manifests as not worrying about messing up. None of this matters, and occasionally you end up creating something you really like; or even try doing portraits, which you always thought you were rubbish at.

Whereas doodling has been shown to increase recall, and can even make you listen to more without drifting off. Even just drawing random shapes, or things that are more intricate (I go through a LOT of notebooks).

Going to (try to) prove my point by sketching something while doing my 15 minutes. Sometimes, in amongst the stress and hassle and 'people', work can be interesting....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.