Today's mini-adventure

The plan for today was lunch on top of the ridge, where a small group of trees survived the felling of the whole area, about 12 years ago. I thought I'd see how the hammock worked as a place to sit, just above the snow. Unfortunately there was a slight breeze blowing across my planned spot so I dropped a couple of metres down the hill and lost the breeze. As I mentioned the forest here was all cut down so I ended up with one end of the hammock tied to a rather small tree, that bent over as I sat down, but I managed to adjust for that. I sat very comfortably for my first coffee. In fact I was so comfortable I lay down and contemplated the sky (extra). Then I took my boots off and put my feet up. This is the life! I lay there and listened. A couple of birds were singing nearby. Some crows were having a conversation as they flew overhead. I could hear that breeze moving the trees just above me. I'd heard a snowplough clanking along the road a kilometre or so away, but the sound from normal traffic didn't reach this far. I feel very fortunate to live somewhere where this quiet is available.  
I stayed a while but the sun was sinking lower and I knew it would get rather chilly when this area dropped into shade so on with the boots and snow shoes, and I headed for home.
It looks, and feels, and is, a wild place, but it's only a kilometre from our house so I was home in 20 minutes.
Jan had been doing some political work in town so I was just preparing dinner when she got home. After her work she'd been checking the charity shop and found a lovely lightweight down jacket in my size for about £15. That was a bargain!  Something to wear on my next trip...
When I blipped my latest baking yesterday I hadn't cut or tasted the loaf. Now I have and it tastes very nice. Texture was a little close in one area so it could have risen even more. So, we'll eat this loaf and then I'll give the recipe another go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.