bgleyna

By bgleyna

Silver Drips

Are my trees crying because they got pruned yesterday? They did bite me back a little with the scratches I sustained and the fat lip from one branch falling on me!
The Farmer’s Almanac told me yesterday and the day before were good days for pruning based on the moon’s gravitational pull and flow of sap in the trees, etc. I’m glad I managed to prune my 6 fruit trees: Each Peach, Pear, Plum, (yes, I’ve got the book) plus Apple, Fig and Pomegranate, before the sleet and ice came today! Hopefully by the time they’ve recovered from their pruning and start to push out new growth, the weather will have warmed up a bit!
We now have some firewood stacked up for burning next year and lots of smaller branches to turn into mulch with my chipper machine. That’s a job for when it warms back up next week. Meanwhile they all are providing a ground cover during this present freeze.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.