BlipCommunity

By BlipCommunity

Still snapping away!

For our latest profile we would like to introduce you to Snapper.

On reflection, she perhaps doesn’t need an introduction because she has been an active member of the Blipfoto community for more than eleven years and, during that time, has built up quite a significant following.

Her hilarious write-ups are quite possibly legendary and, if you don’t already know her, then we’ve finally got her here on the Community Blog to find out more about this lovely, friendly (and sometimes very sarcastic) blipper from the west coast of Scotland.

Can you tell us a bit about yourself?
Semi-retired, married & living in beautiful Argyll for the past 20 years.
Live mostly by my wits, I dabble in some TV work, some teaching and I still do guided tours for folks now and again who wish to explore our gorgeous country.

Have you always been a photographer?
Yes, since I almost choked eating Bazooka Joe bubble gum as a child in order to save enough vouchers to buy my first real (plastic) camera. My dad enjoyed taking photos and he passed on that joy to me. My best friend’s father was a professional wedding photographer in the 70s and I enjoyed looking through all his wedding proofs so I learned a lot from him.

I used to borrow my dad’s Yashika Rangefinder and his old Agfa to take my own photos.
He then bought the iconic Canon A1 and I stole it too.
My husband bought me a camera as an engagement present. It was a Canon (can’t remember which one).

My late dad then bought me my first digital - a Canon 40D - and I never looked back.
I have used bridge, instant, film cameras and a huge variety of digital models. At the moment, I have a Sony A6000 which I like primarily due to its neat size. I did have a Sony a7 full frame but gave it to my eldest daughter. I only sold one camera, once. It was a Panasonic GF1 and I regretted doing so.

They are my babies so I like to hold onto them. Some day I will put them on display!

How did you become interested in photography?
My dad always bought photography magazines and he took loads of photos so it probably all stemmed from there.

What started you blipping?
A work mate told me about it; I looked it up and thought, “Hey this is a good idea, I might give it a go.”

And here I am, more than ten years down the line, still snapping away.

What do you enjoy about the concept.
I like the ability to keep a sort of pictorial diary but, being a naturally nosey person, I like delving into other people’s lives. I’m even so bad as to blip-snoop round folks houses if they put interior shots up! Is that bad? 

How would you describe your journal?
Eclectic probably. I hate being predictable so I like variety. I’d find it impossible to stick to one theme or subject and that’s definitely reflected in the journals I’m drawn to as well. 

Do you have a photographic style?
I do like landscapes, but that’s because I don’t have the patience to sit around waiting for that perfect wildlife shot - landscapes don’t move!
I don’t spend too much time faffing around with my photos primarily because I don’t have the patience again or the skills or the time to learn Lightroom etc.

How important is the journaling side to you?
Very. It’s a two way thing. I reveal little daily snippets about my boring life and I get to snoop on other people’s lives. Some people use it to bare their souls and find that very cathartic, but I like just to keep things light. I also like to think that one day when I am older, more decrepit and have lost my marbles, I can read over my journal and think, “That was one hell of a crazy lady!”

ABOUT BLIPFOTO

Why Blipfoto?
It’s a great idea. It is a photo diary and a written diary and you do get hooked and Blip opens your eyes to observing things around you so that you have a variety of photos. They don’t always need to match up with either your title or journal.

How has daily blipping impacted on your life?
It has made me more aware of what goes on around me and look for new photos.

What’s the biggest challenge with daily blipping?
Having to think out of the box! I like to present life around me and know that’s what I enjoy seeing in other people’s photos. They’re not always easy to find but I think it’s nice to try to attract people to your area and by the same token I have discovered some really beautiful spots taken by other blippers.

What does the Blipfoto community mean to you?
Friendship, pure and simple. I have met some amazing people - some funny, some dour, some sarcastic, some plain batshit crazy!

What motivates you to keep blipping?
It’s that striving to think outside the box and take interesting (I hope) pictures.

What would you say to other blippers or people who are considering signing up?
Go for it! You will make so many friends - that’s what Blip is about; be it a friendly word of advice, an encouragement, etc, it all adds up.

Snapper’s Top 10 
Snapper has shared her favourite ten blips with us.  Enjoy them here in this short film here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.