Anatomy of a Snow Shower

Good timing was required for a run on the moor today. The showers kept coming thick and fast and the wind chill was particularly unpleasant. I'm feeling a little worn down by all this weather over the last week. Normally I go out to clear the head, a kind of reboot of the brain. Lately, I've been coming back in need of a sleep. In these strong winds, the cold just goes into my very soul!

Following Saturday's surprise snowstorm, I've been nursing injuries from two falls sustained in the very slippery conditions, neither of which - after a bit of rest - are proving to be too serious. An injury to my camera seems to be more terminal, though. I'm not sure whether it's to do with being dropped or just getting continually soaked, but it's not in good health. I've now acquired yet another Sony RSX100, my fourth, since the very first I bought almost exactly nine years ago. 

They've been through a lot, these cameras. I've had to write two of them off now as beyond repair but I think this current poorly one might be worth an investment in salvaging. I need a spare. Up to now I've never felt the need to upgrade to a more recent model. Mark 1 has been perfect for all the jobs I ask of it. But this version is almost ten years old now and I was given the excuse I needed to go for the Mark 3, albeit a long way behind where it's at now, which I think has been stuck at Mark 7 for some time. The added viewfinder is extraordinary and will prove useful when I can take my gloves off to use it. The faster lens will be nice to have too. 

So the snow and the accidents might prove to be a blessing in disguise. I have a big problem upgrading something while it's still doing a perfectly serviceable job. I might need to now go and drop my old laptop!

Finally, I have to hold my hand up and confess to new camera syndrome today. I didn't take it out in the middle of the brief hailstorm that passed through. I would have done with the old one! I'll get over myself soon enough. I'm sure I've mentioned this here before. My dad told me that the first thing to do whenever you get a new camera is to get a penknife and put a big scratch on it - not the lens, mind you! Dad was full of practical wisdom. My mum might have had a fit if we'd ever bought a new car!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.