Matt6000

By Matt6000

Been a wee while but finally the weather and dog duties came together for a cycle and I had a wee pootle along to Luss and back on a nice, bright but cold morning.
I threw in my big lens to get a better picture of Wee Peter or Kerr's Folly near Luss and with the mini tripod caught it not too badly. Like a lot of folk, we grew up with the story from my Dad that the statue commemorated a wee boy who had drowned and it was mentioned every time we passed. The happier real story is that it was erected by William Kerr, a stonemason in 1890 after it was rejected for a house he was building in London. He had been orphaned and brought up in the Luss area with his sister and brother. He later recovered the statue which had been lying neglected in a builders yard and erected it on a stone pedestal in Bandry Bay near Aldochlay, Luss; perhaps in memory of a happy childhood. Noone knows why it came to be known as Wee Peter.
Glad my Dad wasn't the only one getting it wrong and a real blast from my childhood,which I seldom fail to stop at.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.