Waiting for the Guests

A second consecutive working day in London for me. A strange day, waking up to the news and wondering quite what this might mean for us all however far we might be from Ukraine today. 

In the evening I was the official event photographer for my employers London Charity Gala. It was primarily an event to celebrate some of the great things some of our people have done in the past 12 months for a myriad of charitable causes. The event was also a fund raiser for Center Point who focus on helping young people across the UK with getting a roof over their heads and securing a better future. They gave a hard hitting presentation on the impact Covid has had on the work they've done. With so many young people working in the types of businesses that have been hit hard by the lockdowns their work has been vital and much requested. 

Always a challenge shooting these events trying to cover the formal presentations, capturing the atmosphere and energy. I don't think I've been around that many people for a long time, no masks but I did of course have the defense layer of the camera and lens which often makes people stand back :).

I've covered this event in the past and probably blipped a similar view but the main dining room was quite impressive so here you see the scene pre guest arrivals.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.