Camera+1

By LiveMike78

Hand Through Door

For my 100th blip I figured I'd bookend with the first blip. That first blip, back on the 1st January, was a recreation of a Edward Weston still-life shot of a pepper.

For my 100th I wanted to do another recreation of a master. This is my version of a Ralph Gibson shot, which the original can be found on his website:

Ralph Gibson

As ever, when I try my hand at recreating the masters' work it becomes very apparent that they are just that. The lighting in Mr Gibson's shot is what makes the picture. I'm going to mark this one down for a revisit another for a couple of reasons:

1. It needs to be shot in bright daylight.
2. The ISO needs to be high to achieve the grain/noise.
3. The shadow of the hand falling on the wall requires I choose a different location.
4. Silhouetting the hand is the hardest part of this shot, and I got no where near it.

In any event, it is a picture I am happy with but can see masses of room for improvement.

And, if you're checking out the picture on Ralph Gibson's website - take the time to look at his other work - especially his nudes - and admire his genius.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.