Sipping on a stormy day

It has snowed and been dark all day. The turkeys look wet, but stoic, dusted with snow sipping from the heated birdbath and gobbling peanuts. They will soon be trudging off through the woods to the trees where they spend their nights.

I painted with my zoom mates today, with one ear tuned to the grim war news on the television down in the kitchen. The images are just heartbreaking as I have watched since washing my brushes. What will happen next? How can more tragedy be averted? I have been in contact with a Russian friend  and a Ukrainian friend now living in NZ(but with family in Kyiv) via instagrams message feature. My Russian friend reports what is shown on television, average Russians do not believe in this travesty and are risking their lives protesting. She reports that facebook and instagram will probably be shutdown soon. My Ukrainian friend cannot reach her relatives. Their heartache is so terribly sobering. What can the free world do to help or stop this evil maniac?



For the Record,
This day came in with snow, sometimes fluffy, sometimes wet.

All hands wary

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.