Holiday!

I wasn't sure how daring I was feeling but I've been itching to do a longer ride and a less strong westerly had my sights set on catching the train to Carnforth and cycling home.  I had everything ready last night and I'd checked the forecasts which included some unpredictable snow patches for early this morning.

I woke up with excitement - the Ingleborough webcam showed it was clear of snow at ground level and it was all going to plan. Until I checked the trains.  At first, I thought the whole journey was cancelled but realised it was just the short leg to Shipley.  But, with a ten minute earlier start, I took the train to Leeds and caught the same train to Carnforth.  That wasn't without epic.  I arrived with plenty of time to spare, knowing which platform I'd arrived on and that I had to go over the bridge.  Once over the bridge, I had ten minutes to buy a drink but thought to check the train times first.  New platform alert! It was on the platform I'd just come from.    No time for tea! Back over the bridge (this time the escalators up, not the steps!) and I caught the train without any further ado.  It's much better to get the ados out of the way before you start cycling, in my view.

And you can see what a pleasure it was, although many times, I pondered on my day compared to the terrible situation in Ukraine.  I'll never take this for granted and perhaps it makes me more determined to enjoy it.

At this point in the photo, I headed over to Ingleton and Ingleborough and travelled the backroad to Austwick, skirting left on one of my favourite roads towards Pen-y-ghent and back into Settle.  Carrying a complete stash of food, there was no need for a chilly cafe stop and I continued my way over to Airton.  The cafe was tempting there because I was low on water but knew I'd just cool off and the cycling temperature was actually perfect.  Instead, I pootled along taking tiny sips and stopped in Embsay for a bottle of water to top up with.

Not really wanting to end my holiday, my heart won and dragged my legs over Langbar and then the Cow and Calf, telling me I'd be avoiding some very large puddles. In the back of my mind, I know that's training for the next step up - but I actually enjoyed myself.  The right food for your body has a lot to answer for. I'm glad I've finally found it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.