War!

6°C  -  21 mph SSW Wind Speed  -  34 mph Gusts  -  Overcast with Rain.  The constant news of the bombardment of Kyif brings back my memories of WW2.  We were living in Kinghorn during most of the war and I can remember the boom of German Junker planes over the Firth of Forth  -  quite different from the scream of British Spitfires.  I can remember when the air-raid sirens went off one night standing at our frontdoor listening to the Junkers passing over, and my mother dragging me indoors to our under-the-stairs air-raid shelter  -  where I was sick all over her foxhead fur coat collar.  The photo is one my mother had taken to send to my father who was in the Royal Artillery somewhere  -  my sister had lovely curly auburn hair at the time  -  she still has the curlsâ˜ș  I just hope Putin comes to his senses soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.