NigelHarvey

By NigelHarvey

Into the light

I was reading someone's journal the other day - it might have been earthdreamer - musing about following his instincts and intuition to find a photograph. I often find that that is how I end up with a picture. Today I was really busy at work, interviewing all day, and didn't get a chance to leave the office. As it was time to go home I became conscious that I ought to be looking for a photo and fiddled about with a plant and some blinds in the office looking for an abstract shot - it had been an abstract kind of day. On the way to the bus stop I took a couple of half-hearted shots of a street I pass every day but deleted them immediately. I decided to walk a different way to the usual route and headed down an empty backstreet behind and below the road I usually take. These steps sort of drew my eye (they lead up to the road I usually take) and I had taken several shots of them when I heard footsteps behind me. The only other person I had seen on this street approached and passed me to climb the stairs. A complete gift, and a moment to savour. I could have waited until darkness and the moment may not have happened again. I caught my bus smiling.

LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.