The sniff test

Bert the bike doing the pony poop sniff test. :-)

Physio wanted me to bike on the flat today. It's better for my knee than biking uphill or walking down hill. It was an opportunity to try Bert on metal roads and the Little River rail trail.

It was colder than I anticipated and I wished I'd worn a thermal layer. Wearing a shell helped until the cloud layer thinned and the temperature rose above 10 degrees. Then I could tolerate the wind chill but still wished I'd worn a thermal layer.

Bert is different than I'm used to. More upright but not fully upright. No knobbly tyres but they're not thin or super smooth either. He's better on the seal and ok on the tracks.

60kms later the battery charge garphic hasn't changed. I'm guessing that like a car petrol gauge, it drops quite suddenly. It also indicates that hpx is still doing a lot of work, which my heart rate showed too.

The electric assist helped my knee. It grumbled a bit but felt fine when I stopped. Bert is a no nonsense sort of bike, a work horse without the magic flow Keith off road. But Bert did surprisingly well, and shone on the seal. I'm left with some interesting thoughts to ponder.

Later I did another short trip to pick up a pack of Iris bulbs. That bumped the mileage up to 60kms for the day. Bert is good for errands. With the price of petrol, any trips I can avoid in the car is good.

Today's gratitude: For being outside in nature. I feel replenished.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.