Second-time-around

By Skysea7

The blossom survived!

I last visited this giant 100+ year old magnolia at Heligan on Feb 10th. Here.  I had been worried that the very heavy frost forecast for that evening would destroy all the new buds.  It didn't!  As lots of rain is forecast for next week I dashed in today while it was still sunny to see it.  There have been those three named storms, with really strong winds, and Heligan had closed three times due to high winds.  There was not only blossom on the ground but ends of branches and twigs with blossom still attached.  So it was very battered but still pretty.  

You might notice a bit of white sky creeping in on the bottom left.  That soon changed to over-all grey.  The sun didn't last and its now overcast and damp.  My cats have come in with drizzle on their fur. (They have been extra friendly towards me so they could get dry!)  It had been forecast as sunny and dry all day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.