Sport on Sunday

We had visitors this afternoon so I dragged my friend L to have a quick look at the Women’s Football match on Potternewton Playing fields. We witnessed RI score, hooray! then soon after their opponents won a corner. Unfortunately the Home goalkeeper (Ukrainian flag colours) made a horrible flap at the cross allowing the ball to drop invitingly in front of the oppositions’s No.4 who assuredly volleyed in from short range. She was cock-a-hoop, screams of delight as she made her way back to the half way line.

My friend L has minimal interest in football so we didn’t stay long, she did ask what I thought of Roman Abramovich’s decision to handover custody of Chelski in the face of serious sanctions on his Russian money. I think he has done the right thing.

I’ve been a fan of CFC since 1974, admission cost 25p and we had Peters ‘The Cat’ Bonetti & Osgood is good! And a really, really ugly ground.

My last visit to Stamford Bridge was on Boxing Day 2014? my brother had been gifted two tickets (£75 a piece), I enjoyed the experience, we won, Frank Lampard played, It was a much more comfortable and safe space than in the good old days.

I know RA’s money is grubby, but I think so is most of the money funding the Premiere League.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.