Dooneen

Today has been another uninspiring one weather-wise but lovely in every other way. Although grey and damp first thing it was at least not raining so I went out for a bike ride, out along the north coast using the long loop, back to Kilcrohane along the southern coast and back via the monument. For the first hour I saw no traffic whatsoever and the only person I encountered was a young man walking along the road playing a beautiful tune on a Ukelele. Only in Ireland. The sense of freedom was positively palpable.

The rain arrived again soon after I get back but we managed to fit in a damp trip to Dooneen, some jobs shifting and stacking firewood, and another walk later afternoon to see some old friends of TJ's, Gerry and Ilana, freshly arrived from Israel. I'd heard so much about this couple but have always just missed them on previous visits. They proved to be every bit as delightful and intelligent and engaging as I'd been led to believe. We went for a meal in Durras and enjoyed a fabulously stimulating evening.

Thanks for all the wonderful comments from yesterday's blip of the Mizen. I've not had a moment to spare to respond but that's how it should be really when I'm here. This is time for taking a break from the computer - although not from blipping. I did also pop in and monitor this forum thread. Changes have been made at blipfoto which I'm not happy about. I don't really understand the driver for these changes either. And it's a very great shame that they were made without any kind of consultation. I hope very much they can be reversed.

PS I've been blipped again. I had an idea for a shot but even I wasn't prepared to go much further than can be seen here to get the perspective I wanted. It was as precarious as it looks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.