chrislewis

By chrislewis

Sad

Drove to our favourite beach this morning. As we were walking across the salt marsh to the beach, about 50 yards in front of us there was a small group of three women and their dogs. All of a sudden the largest dog - a big Doberman (I think) - dropped to the ground. I could tell from the reactions of the people that something was badly wrong. I ran over and he was on his side, totally unresponsive. He wasn’t breathing, and although we tried CPR (probably not very well - all my CPR training has been on human dummies) he never showed any signs of responding. I tried listening for a heartbeat but there was nothing. I reckon the poor dog was dead by the time he hit the ground. The owner was understandably distraught. There was nothing we could do. I couldn’t even carry the dog back to their car - he was too big. Truly horrible and very sad.

RIP Bear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.