Landmark

Sunshine and cloud, chilly.

Spoke to my friend this morning, went for a walk over the park with 2 friends from the U3A, came home, had lunch and then went to Southend with K to get a cable for my mobile phone as my old one had ceased to work and I was nearly out of power.
Fortunately took the camera and shot some photos without knowing what the challenge was.  Looking at blip this evening I realised two of the photos I'd taken fitted the challenge, that was Lucky! The building in blip is a grade 11 listed building which opened in 1901 as part of one of the world's first purpose-built amusement parks.  The building is noted for the distinctive dome designed by Campbell Sherrin which has featured on a Royal Mail special edition stamp.  The extra is of course our well known pier which I have taken many blips of!  Tomorrow Southend is to be visited by Prince Charles and Camilla as it becomes a city, one of the things Prince Charles will be doing is launching a new pier train which I believe is being named after Sir David Amess

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.