If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Lichen

After yesterday's dry and fairly sunny weather just for a change, it rained.  I wandered into the village to the post box in one of the drier spells.  On the way, I noticed a number of pieces of Lichen that had been blown off trees in the recent gales.  Having no other ideas for blipping I picked them up and brought them home.

Lichens are something I don't know a lot about particularly identification.  However, I have made an attempt.  I am tentatively going to say this is Evernia prunastri.  If I am right google tells me it is also known as Oakmoss.

I have never really thought of Lichens having commercial uses as they grow so slowly but my wanderings around the internet suggest it was (possibly still is) used in perfumes.  However, it also says its use is tightly controlled because people can react to it if they have sensitive skin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.