Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Just another Monday

Actually today began as a much more complicated than usual Monday - the unavailability  of my usual lift to Pilates meant a good bit of early morning scuttling to get Himself to an appointment at the local hospital and, later, his usual Pilates class while fitting mine in between these two trips. (It also meant that I had to do the somewhat precarious parking that the location of the studio demands; there is not nearly enough in the way of designated spaces so we end up parking on the pavement at the furthest extremity of the industrial estate). What with the more demanding nature of the class today, because it was back to the old bunch who've been doing it for years, I was pretty flattened by the time I sat down with a coffee.

Other than that, we had a short walk up to church to check that the organ had been closed - a mile and a half seemed about all we felt up to - with a detour on the way home to buy granary flour in the health shop.  It was doing this walk, this familiar route, that brought it home to me how easily I can visualise our proximity to Britain's nuclear submarine base when I look out over the Firth - that view from my window that I keep posting here - and how I feel marginally less threatened when I look inland at the hills instead. All nonsense of course; we're sitting ducks here. 

I cannot express how it feels to have these childhood fears re-awakened. In the 50s, I would hear the radio newsreader mention nuclear tests, and not know what it meant any more than I knew much about Mau Mau. There was the awakening in the 60s, when we speculated about what we'd do if we were given the four minute warning, and the awful day when the Cuban crisis reached boiling point and we listened to a transistor in the gym changing rooms instead of getting ready for PE. And then we came here, and looked at American submarines in our loch and I was an early member of Dunoon & Holy Loch CND and went to Greenham and marched through Clydebank, followed by the relief when things cooled down and the US Navy left the loch. And now here we are, and I don't feel I have the energy to do anything.

Blipping a screen shot from Plane Finder earlier today. It couldn't be clearer that Ukraine is in trouble. I saw this, then downloaded my boarding pass for a holiday I've been planning for months. It's a couple of weeks away yet. Who knows what will happen in a couple of weeks? 

I made a delicious and totally cheaty pasta for dinner tonight, using a glamorous little jar of truffle pasta sauce. And tomorrow I hope to get my hair cut ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.