A Celebratory Bird in the Rain...

Well the day started out with Murphy winning but ended up just fine and dandy.. I went to the same place I did the last 2 trainings but with nobody showing up, I called my boss to see what was up. I was supposed to go to the NEW warehouse a few miles away. Oops - simple miscommunication. I headed over there and safety director wasn't there yet - he was having an issue renting a car - meaning I wasn't late. So the class started 45 minutes late and because there was only two drivers - me with 27 years and the other with 30 years - we were highly challenged on the finer bits of the law and company policy as it relates to our job. We both missed a few things and learned a few things. We then headed out to show that we followed all the rules - in a car we never drove before. Making sure we checked the mirrors, lights, tires and.. We also had to talk our way through the whole 20 minute drive in heavy city traffic. From people who jaywalked, seeing people in cars that might open their door, hidden driveways, school zones, speed limit, stopping at a safe distance, not turning right on a red light, and...  of course it was raining very hard outside but at least it wasn't snow!  Both of us passed with flying colors with me being docked a few points for following a few seconds to close a few times and the other driver not reacting to changing situations fast enough several times. Nothing like a refresher course plus learning a few things as technology and techniques always change over time.

A very long trip planned tomorrow in the rain..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.