memento

By memento

Consequences

Everything we do, has them. We must be more careful before our tendency to launch into me me me, my my my, mine, mine, mine, has a consequence that we want less than the thing we complained about.

I am not an economist, a rocket scientist or a social media expert, but I do know that splattering your site with ads is one way to generate the revenue it takes to keep something up and running and provide salaries for the people who work their butts off to keep it vital. That single fact, though I can appreciate it, keeps me off ALL of the other social media sites. ALL of them. Every last one. Except this one, because there are no ads and the people who run it have expressed that they want to keep it that way.

You can not fault an entrepeneur for turning a simple idea into a wildly successful business, providing a service, creating jobs and securing their own financial future and goals and yes, making a profit. Will they always make popular decisions? No. Will they have to change things along the way? Yes. Can they afford to 'test' or clear their decisions with however many thousand paid members there are right now? No, because it would go around and around till exhaustion and in the end we would have this. A lovely home page*, very tidy. I see I left some room for very teeny ads at the top.

It's like a nightmare I once had about Fa...Fac...Face....I can't even say it.



*An effort was made to remove all brand names in the interest of not providing free advertising for anyone. If you recognize a product or signature color, just ignore it. I wasn't going to do it all from scratch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.