Transitoire

By Transitoire

Petite séance photo

It is really hitting home now how long I have left at the collège...even though in my heart of hearts I really am trying to ignore it. Today I had my second-to-last troisième EURO club, followed by my second-to-last class with the troisième EURO. The more astute of you might notice that I have less lessons than normal on my Tuesday, the reason being that I am already working six hours unpaid over what I should be doing this week for me to work the 9-5 that I would usually do on a normal day. So, in the club I worked with the students on some more different English accents, using English comedians as examples...their favourite being Al Murray's proving of the existence of God through the medium of bacon...what can I say, teenagers are not so different in different countries!

The rest of my time at school was spent helping the class finish their short films and recordings of their short stories...I love the fact that their teacher really does try to make things interesting and fun for their, their comprehension and learning really does improve when they enjoy the subject. As they had to record themselves speaking their story then set it to a video, a lot of them were rather embarrassed to let someone else listen to their work (I know I would be!), but they all asked for my help to make sure what they had said was right even if it was with a few self-conscious grimaces as I was listening to it.

I mentioned a while back that someone took a photograph of me on the street; well I got an email asking if I would be interested in posing for him again, and we made the deal that I would be allowed to take similar photographs if I wanted if we went on a photography walk. So as you can see, no portrait of Rémy (as I have promised, no portraiture for this week, no matter how nice!) so instead here is a view of the river from the Prairie. Now the Prairie is an interesting place, with Harness Racing occurring at one end, jogging around the entire thing, and what looks like a nature reserve at the other end! This is all within a ten minute walk from the centre of Caen....so we do have some green spaces! Although I don't feel 100% comfortable in front of a lens, rather than behind it...I don't think I did too badly, do you?

The evening was spent at La Maison de l'Étudiants, helping run the first Pub Quiz the Erasmus society have ever held. I ended up doing this by accident, after I had said to Thomas that I would help him write the questions for the quiz, then spending an afternoon chez lui writing the quiz with him. Of course, I couldn't therefore join in properly (in other words in a team), as it would give the team I was with an unfair advantage although how much of one I would have given is debatable!! However, as Thomas had to go elsewhere I ended up helping the Valentin (who was running the quiz) make sure everything was correct and "English" enough. Ironically, the only English team (well, English and American) came last...oh the shame for our country!! Instead, it was the Italians who won...although it was a close victory between them and a French/Polish/Italian team (named James Bond² et les Aristochattes). I should have probably gone home after the quiz finished, but I somehow ended up at Le Vertigo with Gaëtan and some of the others, well, I guess a typical end to a Pub Quiz! Getting home at past midnight is probably not the best thing when you start at 8am the next day...but hey ho, #YOHAEYO (you only have an Erasmus year once!).

Achievement of the evening: Frenchman, and founder of Erasmus In Caen thought that I was French. This made me happier than I can probably express on here...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.