BoneShaker

By BoneShaker

I love Ringo - blip 100

Yes I suddenly realised that it's my 100th blip. I should have planned it better but..hey never mind. I'll just have to do something for 150...or 200... That seems like such a long way.

Anyway, I was at the launch of the POP exhibition at the Barnsley Civic. A collection of 50's - 70's pieces of pop culture from an original Bill hayley rock around the clock record (of which I actually have a copy at home - battered from being played every month at BoneShaker) to original Andy wahol campbell soup tin tote bags to Elton johns denim waistcoat. It's a great exhibition and Charlotte is working to do some projects based on it - hence us attending the opening.

There were some great looking fashion students also looking around but I was far too shy to ask to take their pictures... (I need to get over this....)

At the end of the night I had a couple of pictures of the works but nothing I could use for a blip. Then as I was packing my stuff away this girl walked in. She works at the Civic (from what i could work out) and was helping out at the exhibition. I saw her badge and it made me laugh...

I remember reading that Ringo got twice as much fan mail as any of the other Beatles. Maybe it was the nose? It also reminded me of something that Mark Radcliffe (the dj, broadcaster and writer) wrote in his book "Showbusiness - Diary of a rock n roll nobody (A fantastic read)

"It's safe to say that Ringo wasn't the best drummer in the world. It's equally safe to say that Ringo wasn't the best drummer in the Beatles."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.