Porty Girl!!!

By portyg

Celebrating 100 blips and our wedding anniversary

At 1330hrs today Mr P and I were married 23 years ago. the Registrar's Office has now closed down. I have 2 wedding rings - the original tricolour broad band, and a 2nd narrow band that he bought me to wear with a dress ring. We did not get engaged as neither of us thought this was necessary (besides which I could not wear jewels at work, so felt I would probably lose it).

The ring in this photo was my mum and dad's engagement ring which I was given many years ago. It cost £9/15- way back in 1958. Dad bought it in a pawn shop, after their savings had been stolen from my gran's house. They didn't want to wait to save up the same amount again. Mum said that you could tell that it was bought second-hand from this shop, as the shop stamped 2 bars on either side of the setting to indicate that it had been previously pawned and then sold after a period of being unclaimed. I don't know if this is fact or fiction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.