Pancake Tuesday

A good frost this morning. The price we willingly pay for a day of cloudless skies.

On my walk I found this scene. Over the moss covered wall every branch and twig was covered with tiny blobs of ice. Thousands of them all sparkling in the sunshine.

Later I went to the village health centre to provide some blood for routine tests. This is usually fun as the nurses find it extremely difficult to find a vein for their needle. In fact I believe they jokingly call me Mr. Stone. It was even rumoured that one of them, if she discovered I was on the list, would call in sick. The nurse this morning did very well. But then she was a Yorkshire girl.

Today is both St. David’s day and Pancake Tuesday, a great British tradition.
There are Daffodils in the extra for St. David.
And for the pancakes here is a little verse which I have known since I was small.

Mix a pancake, Stir a pancake, Pop it in the pan.
Fry a pancake, Toss a pancake, Catch it if you can. I was surprised to find this was by Christina Rosetti


It will be Pancakes for tea with Lemon juice and sugar.

This is a long blip for me as I usually think that followers have lots of other blips to read. But I should mention Ukraine and the deadful senseless horror of it all. Just to feed one man’s ego.
We feel there is so little we can do but we have at least sent a gift to the Red Cross fund for helping Ukrainian refugees. 

















































  


A good frost this morning. The price we willingly pay for a day of cloudless skies.
On my walk I found this scene. Over the moss covered wall every branch and twig was covered with tiny blobs of ice. Thousands of them all sparkling in the sunshine.
Later I went to the village health centre to provide some blood for routine tests. This is usually fun as the nurses find it extremely difficult to find a vein for their needle. In fact I believe they jokingly call me Mr. Stone. It was even rumoured that one of them, if she discovered I was on the list, would call in sick. The nurse this morning did very well. But then she was a Yorkshire girl.
Today is both St. David’s day and Pancake Tuesday, a great British tradition.
There are Daffodils in the extra for St. David.
And for the pancakes here is a little verse which I have known since I was small.
Mix a pancake, Stir a pancake, Pop it in the pan.
Fry a pancake, Toss a pancake, Catch it if you can. I was surprised to find this was by Christina Rosetti.
It will be Pancakes for tea with Lemon juice and sugar.
This is a long blip for me as I usually think that followers have lots of other blips to read. But I should mention Ukraine and the deadful senseless horror of it all. Just to feed one man’s ego.We feel there is so little we can do but we have at least sent a gift to the Red Cross fund for helping Ukrainian refugees. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.