The Fairy Steps

The first day of meteorological spring lived up to its name {even though real spring does not start for another 3 weeks}.  The weather was beautiful so I went for a lovely circular walk.  I took the train one stop up the line to Arnside then walked across Arnside Moss to Hazelslack Tower and on to the Fairy Steps pictured above.  Legend has it that if you can ascend the Fairy Steps without touching the sides a fairy will grant you a wish.  I doubt that many could achieve that;  I certainly couldn't!  My walk continued on to Cockshot lane from where I dropped down into the Sandside Cutting and walked back along the old railway line.

The extra shows the view from the top of the Fairy Steps looking towards Arnside with Grange in the distance..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.