Wet turkey tail

I have given up being in charge of the birdwatching group after doing it for more years that I care to remember. I had to arrange and recce the route, let people know the venue, turn up and lead the walk. It had taken a long time to get anyone to take it on but eventually two members decided to do it as a job share.

It has been grey and wet all day so kept checking that today's meet was still going ahead (secretly hoping that it would be cancelled). I felt that I should support the new leaders so would be there if the walk happened. No message arrived so I went to Ellesmere as arranged where two other members were waiting.  At the time we were due to start we received a message saying that ithe meet was cancelled.

We decided to go ahead anyway and had a cold, wet walk although the birds were (sensibly) in hiding. My photo is of turkey-tail fungus on an old log, fresh fungi through to very old and black specimens. We cut the length of the walk as the conditions weren't pleasant.

Apparently some of the cancellation messages hadn't got through.  I just hope that they'll check it out before next month's trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.